Producing Good Dubstep

Posts 1 - 25 of 32
  1. 182704
    Chud37 : Tue 14th Apr 2009 : 13 years ago

I dont like to boast, at all, but I feel i've made some good dubstep songs recently and judging from the feedback i've had on looperman I think thats quite a far statement.

Anyway, I want to share some of technics and advice with people, as I think it could help out people quite alot. Im not a professional by any means, but as I said, i've had good feedback and i'd like to share my thoughts on the music making process with you all.

First of all, if you dont know what Dubstep is, go and check it out. Particular favorites are Caspa (www.myspace.com/caspadubstep) and Rusko (www.myspace.com/ruskonfire). These two are what got me into dubstep in the first place, listening to Fabriclive37 (my all time favorite track being Africa, by 'The Others') and since then i've found lots of other artists that i absolutely love (See my profile page, But a few names are Bar9, The Widdler, Reso, Stenchman and Suspect) all of which can be found on myspace.

Rather than do a step by step process of making good music, i'll just write out a few pointers, as you cant really say 1) do this 2) do this 3) publish, it doesnt work like that unfortunately! So lets begin.

#) I think a good thing to start out with is your software. Things like fruity loops and magix music maker are all very well and good, but they dont produce the results and the versitality that the pro's use. Personally I use Cubase SX3 (Im hoping to get version 5 soon, on a student license, for 241) Which i really like. I started off making music a long time ago in Magix Music Maker v2, which was free of a magazine, and was crap. It was basically an arranger and nothing more, and i knew nothing about VSTs and effects or anything. Mind you, i wasnt making dubstep then, just screwy messy trippy type songs with various waves that i had.