School Smarts Vs Street Smarts

Posts 1 - 3 of 3
  1. 4125067
    bringerofDOOM : Wed 1st Dec 2021 : 1 month ago

I received some formal music training in elementary school (on the sax). Later I finished a few theory textbooks, learned guitar, and rudimentary piano (self taught), and read/listened/watched thousands of hours of content over the years. I'm a bit of a mix, but I essentially plateaued when it come to music theory (when you get to "12 tone serialism", you're pretty much done).

Folks like kingmt77 are completely "self taught," yet have top level producer chops.

The formally educated folks say you might need it, the "self-taught" say you don't. I think it's a spectrum and I am leaned more towards the "formal side," but with an emphasis on "rule breaking" and experimentation.

What do you think? Where do you stand?

2. 851137
    crucethus : Wed 1st Dec 2021 : 1 month ago