How To Make My Mixes Sound Better

Posts 1 - 3 of 3
  1. 1427796
    ChaseMercata : Tue 17th Sep 2019 : 4 weeks ago

Hey Guys, i produced a track for a friend: (https://www.looperman.com/tracks/detail/207570) and i need tips on how i could better mix and master this track as i am a beginner at producing.

I have heard terms like EQ, compression, reverb etc and have an basic idea of their purpose but still a little bit lost.

If anyone could give me some tips or pointers it would be greatly appreciated.

2. 2843322
    derekloops : Wed 18th Sep 2019 : 4 weeks ago

Nice track! After listening to it, I can hear that the vocal doesn't quite sit well with the rest of the instruments. This can be one of the most difficult things to get right in a mix. The key is to utilize the things you've listed, such as EQ, compression and reverb, to make the vocal sound like it was recorded in the same environment as the instruments were.

Using my own ear, I can hear that the vocal sounds a little dry, and it needs more wetness to truly blend with the piano. Dry/wetness, as you may know, is the amount of reverb you put onto an audio. Increase the wet of the reverb, and maybe adjust the size/dryness accordingly, and you may find it sounds better later on in the mix.

The vocal also sounds like it gets quiet at some parts. This means there's not enough compression going on. A strong compression with a slight boost to DB may make this vocal sound more crisp, clear, and less weak.

There's another thing I've noticed, and that is the instruments themselves sound like they are not exactly present. They are strong in the bass frequencies, but not so much the mid/highs. A lot of times you will find unnecessary low frequencies taking up the chunk of your mix, and you will have to EQ them out.