This Is Why I Am A Sound Engineer And Its Not What You Think

Posts 1 - 11 of 11
  1. 1414881
    BradoSanz : Sat 17th Mar 2018 : 4 months ago As some of you may know, I have become more focused on music production nowadays than songwriting. I've been recording since late 2012 until now (6 years!! Where has the time gone?). I have fallen in love with all things recording - mixing by far being my favorite thing to do.

The REAL reason I do this, however, was because I found myself in what is now a 3-year dry spell in terms of writing music. I can no longer string words together in a way that I like. I struggle so desperately to find authenticity in what I'm saying and I end up canning 100% of the things I've written.

I don't know why.

Lyrics used to flow so easily.

Now it seems like everything is dry, empty, lacking meaning for me. How do I find this again? I admire bands like The Goo Goo Dolls and Switchfoot who always have amazing lyrical talent, and dream of being as good as they are one day; it makes me miss songwriting so, so much but I can't get past the hurdle of not liking what I put down on paper, and now I fall deeper into this pit with every hour I spend focusing on other people's music.

Help!

Brado
  2. 2431535
    Rockerboi78 : Sat 17th Mar 2018 : 4 months ago You just need to write what you feel sounds good. Start from there. Eventually it won't be so hard to come up with creative lyrics anymore.
  3. 1074070
    DJSLTUK : Sat 17th Mar 2018 : 4 months ago Reverse what you are doing Brado...i've heard your music for years now...and no matter you put out..its always 100% Solid.