How Do I Arrange Songs

Posts 1 - 14 of 14
  1. 2521144
    kwirko : Sun 25th Feb 2018 : 6 months ago Hello,

I am currently working on a new song, I am very new to music production and I need someone to explain to me how to arrange songs, like for e.g. where to place the chorus, verse, etc.
    and also how are they supposed to sound different from each other.

can someone help?
    Thank you.
  2. 1564425
    rasputin1963 : Mon 26th Feb 2018 : 6 months ago Hi Kwirko. This is an excellent question. There are many ways to section your songs. For sake of convenience, let's not use the words "chorus" "verse" right now. Let's call your sections A, B, C and D.

One type of song is the AAA. You simply play the verse over and over again, and that's your song. Many folk songs do this, both old-fashioned folk, and modern folk, and folk-rock. Bob Dylan is famous for this form. Often the last line of each "A" section will have a "refrain", which is a line that repeats at the end of each A section.

Another type of song would be the AABA form. This would be, Verse-Verse-Bridge-Verse. This is a very standard form for popular songwriting and it's very effective.

Then you could have an ABAB song, which could be thought of as Verse--Chorus--Verse---Chorus song. Very fun, enjoyable, singalong type of song form.
  3. 1564425
    rasputin1963 : Mon 26th Feb 2018 : 6 months ago To get more sophisticated, as you work out your whole song, you might have something like: ABABCB. Which would be something like: Verse--Chorus--Verse--Chorus---Bridge--Chorus. This a very standard, highly used pop song form... used throughout the rock era, and it still works.

Now, add an intro to this same form, and add an outro or "coda". Thus you'd have something like: ABCBCDBA.