MrWolf First Attempt At Video Production - Feedback Required

Posts 1 - 5 of 5
  1. 848132
    mrwolf14 : Thu 5th Oct 2017 : 2 months ago Dear All,
    Even if I am very busy with life at the moment (and not as active as I would like on the music front) I manage to still keep myself in the "band".

And we decided to film a music video for one of the songs on the upcoming album:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gziDbTIbT7g

This is my first attempt at a "music video" which is not "just a recording of a rehearsal session".
    I tried to push things a bit more into a "professional" area, with a story, a list of the shots I wanted and some research in the creative-commons archive to add some interesting footage material.

...and I am 68% satisfied with the result :-)
    Hence... my feedback request:
    - what did I do completely wrong?
    - what are the "beginners" mistakes that I could have avoided?
    - what are the good things that should have had more room?

I am not going to rework this video, but I would like to learn, improve and create better ones in the future.
    Thanks in advance for your help Looperman community!
    Sincerely yours, Domenico
  2. 630386
    JosephFunk : Fri 6th Oct 2017 : 2 months ago Hey Domenico!

The song and the band was spectacular! Man, you guys really rock hard. Awesome rich analogue guitar sounds and rig, nice mix and great post audio mastering as well.

The video, you actually needed better original lighting, because in your video production software you can always darken things later if you want. Also, I was hoping for some cool video transitions but nothing over the top or techie rather than just slamming edited video segments together.

What you did well was you featured the band in real time which always an excellent idea in a first video, congrats. Also credits before or after the video and nothing to long or lengthy would be nice but that's not really required, just a suggestion.