DACs It Is What It Aint

Posts 1 - 8 of 8
  1. 111346
    Planetjazzbass : Wed 5th Jul 2017 : 1 year ago Whoa I feel like I've been listening to music underwater for the last 10 years, I've always had reasonable audio gear nothing ultra high end and nothing el-cheapo either, usually I'll buy stuff second hand after lots of perusing and waiting for the right product and deal to surface, this is why I'm totally blown away after upgrading to a Universal Audio Apollo Quad interface (pristine second hand condition, great deal), I'd been using Presonus gear for years and was very satisfied with it, however after about the first note through the Apollo it became clear that the DACs within it (digital audio converters) where on a totally different level, talk about hearing things with uber clarity this is going to take my productions to the next level, I'm like a pig in...well you know!...Anyone else experienced sound nirvana when changing to a different brand or product ?
  2. 186161
    Spivkurl : Wed 5th Jul 2017 : 1 year ago Not to pick nits, but DAC is a "digital to analog converter," the opposite of an ADC. DAC's in an audio interface will effect monitoring and outputs which are routed from a DAW.

I suppose that switching to a MOTU Traveler (also second hand) gave me a similar feeling. I'm generally far more concerned with ADC's and input preamps than the DAC.

With monitoring, whether speakers or headphones, I find comfortability and practice to be the most important things. A lot of people seem to run out and spend hundreds of dollars on a pair of headphones, only to release things which sound like rubbish. It's somewhat akin to changing the brand of food that you feed your cat... it might be higher quality or more expensive, but it will still take quite a while for it not to make them sick.