See our Outer Space RE-201 emulator By AudioThing Review

Ive Been Tasked With Making Grime Music

Posts 1 - 10 of 10
  1. 1745953
    EnKroach : Sun 3rd Jan 2016 : 5 years ago

Advice.. Bet you were thinking something else :)

I've been tasked with making grime music, I don't really know what grime is and my research yields little fruit.

My background is heavy metal and breakbeat, genres that usually require skill and talent, whereas all of the grime music I've listened to (pro & amateur) seems to be driven by ego and basic beats.

My question is three-fold:

How do I learn the mechanics of a genre without becoming insane and hateful from it's seemingly generic feel.

How do I deal with any egotistical clients (rappers) without giving them a lesson in humility.

And lastly do you have any advice on separating personal sentiment from your creations.. They are our babies after all.

Thank you for your time :)

A little disclaimer, I understand I'm relatively ignorant to the genre and would be willing to change my perceptions given good enough reason.

2. 1744297
    Unknown User : Sun 3rd Jan 2016 : 5 years ago

The only advice I can offer you is.... Youtube!
    Hunt down a "Grime" channel and pick out some tracks for reference. With your reference tracks just join the dots and ask your self what do they all have in common? As for the rest of your queries, well, just focus on the finish line. You will probably find that you will learn some stuff along the way (may not be useful stuff).
    Also if you find it generic then why not put a little "EnKroach twist" on it...
    Good luck mate!

3. 1745953
    EnKroach : Sun 3rd Jan 2016 : 5 years ago

Thanks for the tip dude.. I've found a lot of instrumentals on YT that are bearable, it's an interesting genre, if it wasn't for the vocalist's egos and vitriol. I feel there's a lot of room for innovation.

4. 1706010
    Problemssss : Mon 4th Jan 2016 : 5 years ago