How To Upgrade My Pc

Posts 1 - 16 of 16
  1. 756701
    Vano : Fri 18th Sep 2015 : 2 years ago Hello Looperman.

So, I'm not an expert when it comes to this topic but I need advice on having a PC that produces good quality for recording music.

So far in my "research", I have found that RAM is important and I guess getting a sound card and more hard drive space would also help? I also want a good graphics card and I know you're thinking "A pc for recording and gaming is not good" but in all honesty, I only have ONE pc game.

Besides RAM, a graphic & sound card and hard drive space, what other hardware would improve what I am looking to do?
  2. 186161
    Spivkurl : Fri 18th Sep 2015 : 2 years ago Well have a fast CPU is important as well, and depending on the software you use, multicore CPU may be helpful as well. A large hard drive is nice if you plan on recording lots of audio or collecting a lot of samples. I personal would ignore that sound card, and get a decent audio interface instead. You will have much easier and better results with a good interface. Graphic cards can make a big difference in some audio applications.

I guess my biggest regret with my studio computer is the lack of expandability/upgradeability. It's one of those slim desktops. There are only PCI express slots, and I needed some USB 3.0 connections. I got a hub card for the PCI express, which called itself "small form factor"... I had to use tin snips to make the panel even smaller to make it fit.

Also, having a strong power supply can make a difference, especially if you want to expand with peripherals. That's another weakness of my computer.