What Is The Most Basic Setup For Recording And Producing Tracks

Posts 1 - 21 of 21
  1. 1224330
    rourke : Mon 19th May 2014 : 5 years ago

Hi guys

I am a newbie here and am shure like lots of newbies I am unshure of what works and does not.

SO I want to hear from u guys what would be the most workable setup in terms of software and hardware?

for e.g if 1 wants to produce tracks of a hip hop nature what would 1 need that is basic? Please include brand name and model that will do on a small/basic budget(this is because as a newbie most of us don't have much cash and is only starting out.

So 1 would say that for the hip hop/rap the following might be needed for a basic setup.eg:

Pentuim 4 computer with 3gbram at least
    Fl studio
    Audicity
    Maybe a behringer mic (studio ovcoz)
    behringer studio monitors
    external sound card or internal

the above is just an example.

What would u be spending on this basic setup(this would be great to give us newbies a budget target at least).

thanks a lot guys hope to hear from u.

2. 666289
    FreeRadical : Mon 19th May 2014 : 5 years ago

Well audacity is free so you may as well start there.
    I'm an FL user which is great for dance music but not so sure about for live stuff.
    I think Ableton is better for that malarkey.
    As for the vocal mic, Shure SM58 is very popular.
    But i'm hardly an expert in these matters

3. 1224330
    rourke : Tue 20th May 2014 : 5 years ago

Hi there freeradical

Thanks for the reply

I was mearly referring to the recording of vocals and music(Beats) for house,dance, rap ,hip hop.etc.

Live music will proberbly be something totally different.

The SM58 is I take it a live mic?Which cheap 1 will be good for recording in house? Berhinger perhaps?

4. 1205128
    LivingInSilence : Tue 20th May 2014 : 5 years ago

If it's hip-hop you're interested in than I have 4 words and 1 price for you:

Native Instruments' Maschine Mikro. $428