ATH-M50s

Posts 1 - 13 of 13
  1. 1029245
    LilEmolyte : Fri 9th May 2014 : 5 years ago

Im looking into getting a pair. To anyone who has a pair, could you tell me how they are, sound quality, build quality, and if they are good for making music, and any other information about them would be appreciated as well.

2. 498019
    Tumbleweed : Sat 10th May 2014 : 5 years ago

I have been using M50s for about 5 years...been involved with recording & production since mid 80s and I`d say they are the most accurate set of cans I have owned...very accurate on the lows (which is key) and mid range...my ears are now a bit beat up and that usually shows in the higher frequencies..so they may (or may not) be a little understated in the very highs...I used several sets of cans over the years and usually went with Sony MDV600s when I needed to get a handle on the real high frequencies without turning on the monitors......You wont go wrong with the ATH - M50s EYEDYE....If anything happened to the ones I own I would just go buy another set....I suggest you break them in well before you use them for recording/mixing...I just plugged mine into an MP3 player cranked to a reasonable high volume & let it run overnight through my playlist which has a lot of frequency variation.....Good luck....Ed

3. 1029245
    LilEmolyte : Sat 10th May 2014 : 5 years ago

thanks for the reply, and ive read that you need to burn them in first, playing white noise thru them first, which was something id never heard about, but ill try it if i get them.

4. 1205128
    LivingInSilence : Sat 10th May 2014 : 5 years ago

You don't need to burn-in headphones coz they'll automatically do that the more you use them (it's basically just allowing the coils to loosen up and fit better around the diaphragm.

But if you're gonna burn them in, pink noise is much more ideal for that compared to white noise.