See our Outer Space RE-201 emulator By AudioThing Review

Music Theory 101

Posts 1 - 25 of 25
  1. 610521
    SamAndHisGuitar : Wed 12th Jun 2013 : 8 years ago

I'm a college graduate in Music Theory with a focus on classical guitar. I have won two awards in my respective field in state competitions. I would love to help out any willing Looper's to learn some theory, or anything else about the project they are working on, etc. Just let me know, and I will answer it as soon as I can get to a computer. Cheers.

2. 828980
    Burtsbluesboxes : Wed 12th Jun 2013 : 8 years ago

Hi Sam i'm studying theory on my own been at it about a year now, any questions i have i wont hesitate to ask u, thank you for this thread!

3. 610521

Good to go man! Anything at all you can think of. Chord relations to modes.

4. 828980

Hey Sam can you explain modes a little? I got a basic understanding of keys, chord progressions.

5. 610521

Absolutely! Let's talk modes. First off, let's go over what modes are: Think of a piano. You have middle C. Now. All scales played consecutively on white keys (no raised or lowered notes) are mode constructs used in the old time church music. So, C, D, E, F, G, A, B, on the keyboard is in fact Ionian mode, or more commonly known as the major scale! That is where our major scale was derived from. And this is how they relate in steps from the first note of the scale.

Ionian - Ionian is the major scale in itself. So:
    Whole, Whole, Half, Whole, Whole, Whole, Half

Dorian - The second mode. Second note of the major scale.
    Whole, Half, Whole, Whole, Whole, Half, Whole

Phrygian - Constructed from the third note of a major scale.
    Half, Whole, Whole, Whole, Half, Whole, Whole

Lydian - Constructed from the fourth note of a major scale. Whole, Whole, Whole, Half, Whole, Whole, Half.
    (Very beautiful mode. See Alter Bridge - Down To My Last)